clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

NFL Awards 2012: Drew Brees, Cam Newton, Von Miller, Jim Harbaugh Earn AP Honors

Aaron Rodger earned the NFL's MVP award Saturday night, but there were many other honors handed out during the league's "NFL Honors" primetime special on NBC.

New England Saints quarterback Drew Brees, who finished the year with a NFL-record 5,476 pass yards, earned the league's Offensive Player of the Year honors, while Baltimore Ravens linebacker Terrell Suggs collected the Defensive Player of the Year award.

Suggs ended the season with 70 tackles and 14 sacks for the Ravens, who lost to the New England Patriots in the AFC Championship game.

The head coach of the NFC runner-ups, San Fransisco 49ers, Jim Harbaugh earned Coach of the Year honors.

Meanwhile, Carolina Panthers quarterback Cam Newton was a near unanimous decision for the Offensive Rookie of the Year, as the Cincinnati Bengals quarterback Andy Dalton took just three of the 47 first-place votes.

Here's a list full list of the AP's award winners:

MVP: Aaron Rodgers -- QB Green Bay Packers
Offensive Player of the Year: Drew Brees -- QB New Orleans Saints
Defensive Player of the Year: Terrell Suggs -- LB Baltimore Ravens
Offensive Rookie of the Year: Cam Newton -- QB Carolina Panthers
Defensive Rookie of the Year: Von Miller -- LB Denver Broncos
Comeback Player of the Year: Mattew Stafford -- QB Detriot Lions
NFL Man of the Year: Matt Birk -- OL Baltimore Ravens
NFL Head Coach of the Year: Jim Harbaugh -- San Fransisco 49ers

For more on the AP NFL Awards of 2012, check out SB Nation's pro football homepage. For more New England Patriots coverage, visit our team page and blog, Pats Pulpit.