clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

2012 Pro Bowl Final Score: AFC Wins, 59-41, Over NFC

The AFC beat the NFC, 59-41, during the 2012 Pro Bowl on Sunday. Brandon Marshall was named MVP after catching four touchdowns.

Getty Images

The New England Patriots had eight players selected for the 2012 Pro Bowl, including Tom Brady, Rob Gronkowski, and Wes Welker. It is unfortunate that none of them could have played Sunday due to the upcoming Super Bowl, because any one of them could have added even more to a dominant performance. The AFC won, 59-41, over the NFC, recording the highest single team score ever in the history of the contest.

Brandon Marshall was named MVP after catching six passes for 177 yards and four touchdowns. None was more spectacular than this, a richochet off his feet into his own waiting arms as he fell backwards into the end zone. Other highlights from the no-blitz, low-effort match include a Marshawn Lynch flop and a failed Drew Brees dropkick. And whatever this was.

The Patriots' eight selections was tied for the most by any team at this year's game along with the San Francisco 49ers. The Baltimore Ravens and the Green Bay Packers had seven apiece.

For more on the 2012 Pro Bowl, check out SB Nation's dedicated StoryStream. For more on the Patriots, head over to Pats Pulpit.