clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Troy Brown, Ty Law To Serve As Honorary Captains For Patriots

The last time the New England Patriots actually won a Super Bowl was in 2005, which seems like a century ago. To get the team and fans back into the 2005 spirit, they have decided to have four honorary captains from past Patriot teams to represent them on Sunday against the Baltimore Ravens.

On Wednesday, the Patriots named two of their four captains for Sunday, as they announced that former wide receiver Troy Brown and cornerback Ty Law will be honorary captains. The captains were chosen by owner Robert Kraft, who will name the final two captains on Thursday and Friday.

Alongside current Patriots wide receiver Deion Branch, Troy Brown formed into one of quarterback Tom Brady's favorite targets in the Patriots offense. Over his 15 seasons with the Patriots, Brown accounted for more than 6,366 receiving yards and 31 touchdowns in 557 total catches. Brown has also been praised by Kraft as well as head coach Bill Belichick as being a good teammate and good guy off the field.

As for Law, this pick was also a no-brainer for Robert Kraft. In his 10 seasons in New England, Law established himself as one of the best corners in franchise history with 36 interceptions in 141 games played with the team. Like Brown, Law is often praised by Kraft as a great person and someone who represents the organization well.

For more New England Patriots coverage, visit our team page and blog, Pats Pulpit