clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

2011 Pro Bowl: DeAngelo Hall Leads NFC Past AFC, 55-41

DeAngelo Hall had six tackles, an interception and returned a fumble 34 yards for a touchdown to lead the NFC past the AFC, 55-41, in the 41st annual NFL Pro Bowl on Sunday night in Honolulu.

Hall, who was named the MVP of the 2011 NFL Pro Bowl, also had a pass deflection in the victory for the NFC, which has now won 21 of 41 games against the AFC.

The NFC took a commanding 42-0 lead with 4:32 left in the second quarter. Jamaal Charles (10 carries, 72 yards) put the AFC on the board an eight-yard touchdown run with 1:54 remaining in the first half.

Three touchdowns in the third quarter for the AFC brought the game within reach entering the fourth quarter, but the NFC scored 10 points in the final quarter to seal the victory.

Matt Ryan threw for 118 yards and tossed two touchdowns and an interception while Drew Brees threw for 68 yards and Michael Vick threw for 59 yards.

Phillip Rivers completed 17-of-26 passes for two touchdowns and an interceptions to lead the AFC. Matt Cassel threw for 95 yards, two touchdowns and two interceptions while Peyton Manning threw for 12 yards and also tossed an interception.

Adrian Peterson rushed for 80 yards and a touchdown on 14 carries for the NFC. Roddy White had five receptions for 69 yards and Tony Gonzales had Three catches for 42 yards and a touchdown.

Reggie Wayne had five catches for 86 yards and Dwayne Bowe had four receptions for 54 yards to pace the AFC.