clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Red Sox Vs. Twins: Boston Opens Up Grapefruit League Play Against Minnesota

After defeating both Northeastern and BC yesterday, the Boston Red Sox look to build momentum and win against a much tougher opponent in the Minnesota Twins on Sunday afternoon at JetBlue Park.

Taking the mound for the Red Sox today is Josh Beckett, who will be making his spring debut today. Beckett, like yesterday's starter Jon Lester, is looking to get 2012 started on the right foot. Today will hopefully be the start of Beckett putting his September struggles and beer and chicken habits behind him. The Sox are expecting a lot of Beckett in 2012, so hopefully he can have a nice outing in his expected two innings of work today.

Opposing Beckett will be Twins left hander Francisco Liriano, who is looking to improve upon a disastrous 2011 campaign. Despite throwing a no-hitter last season, Liriano finished up with a 9-10 record and a 5.09 ERA. Liriano remains one of the key pieces for the Twins that will have to come up big in 2012 if they want to compete in the AL Central. Jared Burton, Esmerling Vasquez, Sam Deduno and Daryl Thompson will also see actions for the Twins.

As for who Liriano will be facing, here is today's Red Sox lineup:

Boston Red Sox Lineup vs. Minnesota

  1. Dustin Pedroia, 2B
  2. Jacoby Ellsbury, CF
  3. Cody Ross, RF
  4. Adrian Gonzalez, 1B
  5. Mike Aviles, SS
  6. Jarrod Saltalamacchia, C
  7. Darnell McDonald, LF
  8. Will Middlebrooks, 3B
  9. Juan Carlos Linares, DH

Starting Pitcher: Josh Beckett (0-0 ---)

Also Pitching: Andrew Miller, Mark Melancon, Justin Thomas, Tony Pena Jr., Scott Atchison

When: 1:35 p.m.

Where: JetBlue Park in Fort Myers, Florida



Today's contest against the Twins will be the 1st Grapefruit League game at JetBlue Park...The Red Sox attempt to take back the Mayor's Cup against theircross county rivals in 2012, beginning with the Red Sox 1st Grapefruit Leaguegame of the year today vs. a split Minnesota squad...Boston dropped last year's series, 2-3, its 1st Mayor's Cup loss since 2006, after taking the title in1997-1999, 2004 and 2007-2010