clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

ACC Player Of The Year: Nolan Smith Conference's Top Player, Harrison Barnes Top Rookie

The ACC handed out its individual awards on Tuesday, and it was Duke's Nolan Smith that took home 2011 ACC Player of the Year honors. The other three major individual awards belong to members of the conference-champion North Carolina Tar Heels: Roy Williams was named Coach of the Year, Harrison Barnes was tabbed the ACC Rookie of the Year and John Henson was selected as Defensive Player of the Year. 

The winners were determined by vote of 75 members of the Atlantic Coast Sports Media Association.

Smith, a unanimous All-ACC pick, received 73 of the 75 votes for Player of the Year. He leads the league with 21.6 points and becomes the 14th Blue Devil to win the award (an ACC record), and first since J.J. Redick in 2006.

Roy Williams, who guided UNC to a 24-6 overall record (14-2 ACC) and the regular season title, earned 52 votes, finishing ahead of a pair of first-year coaches: Clemson's Brad Brownell and Boston College's Steve Donahue (six votes). 

2010-11 Atlantic Coast Conference men's basketball individual awards:

ACC Player of the Year
Nolan Smith, Duke (73)
Kyle Singler, Duke (1)
Jordan Williams, Maryland (1)

ACC Coach of the Year
Roy Williams, North Carolina (52)
Brad Brownell, Clemson (8)
Steve Donahue, Boston College (6)
Leonard Hamilton, Florida State (4)
Mike Krzyzewski, Duke (3)
Seth Greenberg, Virginia Tech (1)
Tony Bennett, Virginia (1)

ACC Rookie of the Year
Harrison Barnes, North Carolina (64)
Kendall Marshall, North Carolina (7)
Travis McKie, Wake Forest (2)
Terrell Stoglin, Maryland (1)

ACC Defensive Player of the Year
John Henson, North Carolina (49)
Chris Singleton, Florida State (16)
Iman Shumpert, Georgia Tech (2)
Jordan Williams, Maryland (2)
Malcolm Delaney, Virginia Tech (1)
Jeff Allen, Virginia Tech (1)
Demontez Stitt, Clemson (1)
Kyle Singler, Duke (1)
Nolan Smith, Duke (1)