clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Doc Rivers Receives Auerbach Award

Boston Celtics head coach Doc Rivers was the recipient of the sixth annual Auerbach Award, which honors the Celtics player or coach that best embodies what it means to be a Celtic based on performance on and off the court.

The award was presented to Rivers prior to the Celtics' blowout win over the Washington Wizards on Friday night at TD Garden. The Auerbach Award was first presented in the 2005-06 season, but this is the first time that the award was presented to a Celtics' coach.

"Doc Rivers deserves this award because he has proved that not only can you be a great basketball coach, but you can be a strong role model in the Boston community and off the court," said Grousbeck. "I am proud to have someone like Doc Rivers as a Boston Celtic because he exemplifies what it means to be a true Celtic". (via ESPN Boston)

The first ever winner of the Auerbach Award in 2006 was Paul Pierce. Al Jefferson won the award in 2007, Kevin Garnett won it in 2008, Ray Allen won it in 2009 and Rajon Rondo won the award last season.