clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

NHL Awards 2011: Boston Bruins' Tim Thomas Wins Second Vezina Trophy

Following a season in which he set the NHL record for best save percentage (.938%), Tim Thomas was awarded his second Vezina Trophy in three years, firmly entrenching the Boston goaltender into an elite class. 

Since the NHL adopted the current criteria for the Vezina Trophy in 1982, only Patrick Roy, Ed Belfour, Dominik Hasek and Martin Brodeur have been multiple-time winners of the award. With Thomas, they account for 17 of the 28 Vezina awards in that span. 

Thomas' out-of-this-world numbers only improved in the Stanley Cup Playoffs, where his GAA dropped from an even 2.00 to 1.98 and his save percentage rose to .940, ultimately resulting in Thomas hoisting the Conn Smythe trophy as playoff Most Valuable Player, as well as helping the Bruins to their first Stanley Cup since the days of Bobby Orr and Phil Esposito back in 1972, a span of 39 years. 

Not a bad deal for a guy who wasn't even the starting goaltender on his own team on opening night.