clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Beanpot 2011, Boston University Vs. Boston College: Time, History, Results And More

The first round of the 59th Annual Beanpot is set to begin Monday night at 5 p.m. EST. Harvard faces Northeastern in the early game and Boston University will battle Boston College in the late game at 8 p.m. Here's a look at the Boston University-Boston College match-up.

Teams: No. 14 Boston University (13-7-7, 10-5-5 Hockey East) and No. 1 Boston College (19-6-0, 15-5-0 Hockey East) meet in the marquee match-up of the 2011 Beanpot, albeit a first-round match.

Date/Time: Monday, February 7, 2011 - 8:00 p.m. EST

Broadcast Information: Monday night's game featuring BU and BC will be broadcast on NESN. Don Orsillo will serve as the play-by-play announcer while Andy Brickley serves as the color commentator. Naoko Funayama will bring rinkside with reports. The game will also be broadcast on WWZN 1510 AM. Bernie Corbett will serve as the play-by-play announcer and Mark Linehan will be the color commentator for WWZN.

Location: TD Garden, Boston, Massachusetts. The home of the Boston Bruins of the NHL and the Boston Celtics of the NBA will serve as the home of Boston's prestigious college hockey tournament on Monday night and next Monday night.

Series History: Boston University is 15-4 when facing Boston College in the first round of the Beanpot. When BU and BC have met in the first round, the Terriers have won the Beanpot title 11 times while the Eagles have won the tournament title twice. The Eagles and Terriers have won 44 Beanpot titles combined out of 58.

Boston University In The Beanpot: Boston University owns a tournament-best 84-32 record all-time and has won the Beanpot a record 29 times. The Terriers have 541 goals for opposed to a tournament-low 357 goals against. The last time BU won the Beanpot was in the 2008-09 season. Boston University has finished second 19 times, third seven times and fourth three times.

Boston College In The Beanpot: Boston College is 67-49 all-time in the tournament and has won the Beanpot championship title 15 times. The Eagles have scored 483 goals while allowing 413 in the Beanpot. BC is the defending Beanpot champion, winning the tournament in the 2009-10 season before going on to win the NCAA national championship. Boston College has finished second 15 times, third 22 times and fourth six times.