clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Hockey East: UMass pulls upset of No. 8 Dartmouth to win Ledyard Classic on road

Massachusetts 3, Dartmouth 2
On Monday evening at Thompson Arena, the visiting Massachusetts Minutemen broke the seven-game home winning streak of the No. 8 Dartmouth Big Green in a 3-2 win to capture the Ledyard National Bank Classic title. The victory was just UMass' second-ever tournament title in program history with the first coming at the 2007 Lightning College Hockey Classic in Tampa, Fla. Junior Branden Gracel was named the Tournament MVP as he scored four points in the wins over Bemidji State and the Big Green over the holiday weekend, while scoring the title game-winner on a power play just 15 seconds into the third period. In the opening stanza, the Minutemen solved a Dartmouth penalty kill that had previously shaken off 32 consecutive infractions as Melrose, Mass. native and junior Conor Sheary scored at the 3:04 mark - a man-up tally of his own. The special teams theme continued as senior Eddie Olczyk netted his first of the season on the shorthand 9:50 into the second period. The Green scored both of its goals in the first period - a man-down score from rookie Brett Patterson and top shelf snipe on sophomore Kevin Boyle (27 saves) off the stick of stellar Dartmouth senior Dustin Walsh. ECAC Hockey Goaltender of the Month Cab Morris was solid between the pipes, despite his second loss in eight decisions, as he made 25 saves. The Minutemen return to action on Jan. 11 as they face Providence in the start of a home-and-home at Mullins Center.

Joshua Kummins is the Hockey East beat writer for SB Nation Boston. Follow him on Twitter @JoshuaKummins.