clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Tour de France 2012 Results: Bradley Wiggins Has Unofficial Overall Win After Stage 19 Win

Bradley Wiggins (Sky) is set to become the first British cyclist to ever win the Tour de France after a dominant performance in Stage 19 of the 2012 Tour. Wiggins wins the race's final time trial by more than a minute, with his teammate Christopher Froome coming in second. Luis Leon Sanchez (Rabobank) was third.

Wiggins is an excellent time trial rider, and with three time trials the 2012 Tour was well suited to him. His opponents were ready to test him in the mountains, but with the help of Froome and the rest of Team Sky Wiggins was able to match or best every attack. His closest rival headed into Stage 19 was Vincenzo Nibali of Liquigas-Cannondale, but he was more than two minutes back and had little chance of making up that time. Stage 20 of the Tour de France is a largely ceremonial ride that does not effect the General Classification, so the final podium will be Wiggins, Froome and Nibali.

Stick with this StoryStream for recaps, updates and more from the 2012 Tour de France. For all things cycling, head over to Podium Cafe.

Check out the SB Nation Channel on YouTube