clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

College Hockey Realignment: Connecticut Huskies To Join Hockey East In 2014-2015

UConn announced on June 21 that it will join Hockey East for the 2014-2015 season.

Getty Images

College hockey realignment continues as the UConn Huskies announced that they have accepted the offer of Hockey East to join the conference for the 2014-2015 season.

For the 2014-2015 season, Hockey East will have 12 members: Boston College, Boston University, Maine, Merrimack, UMass-Lowell, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, Northeastern, Notre Dame (beginning in 2013-14), Providence and Vermont. For the next two seasons, the Huskies will continue to play in the Atlantic Hockey Association.

UConn's athletic director Warde Manuel said in a statement:

"This is a historic day in the history of the University of Connecticut and its Division of Athletics. Hockey East is the premier men's ice hockey conference in the country and we are proud to say that the Huskies are now part of it. I would like to thank Hockey East Commissioner Joe Bertagna and the Athletic Directors at the institutions that comprise Hockey East for providing us this special opportunity. We are committed to developing a men's ice hockey program that can and will perform successfully on the national level and compete for Hockey East and NCAA championships.

"I would also like to recognize Commissioner Robert DeGregorio and our fellow Atlantic Hockey institutions for their support during this decision making process."

UConn will hold a "Welcome to Hockey East" celebration and press conference on June 29 at noon at the XL Center in Hartford, Conn.

For more coverage of the Huskies, please visit The UConn Blog.