clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Loyola Vs. Maryland, NCAA Men's Lacrosse Championship 2012: Greyhounds Win 9-3, Take Home First Title

The Loyola (Md.) Greyhounds defeated the Maryland Terrapins, 9-3, in the NCAA Men's Lacrosse Championship game on Monday at Gillette Stadium at Foxborough, Mass.

With the win, Loyola became just the ninth team to win a lacrosse title and the first No. 1 seed to win the title since 2006. Maryland fell to 2-9 all-time in the title game and hasn't won the tournament since 1975.

Maryland was held scoreless in their final 19 possessions of the game by the Greyhounds. The Terrapins also had 13 turnovers. Maryland did take a 1-0 lead in the first quarter but fell behind 2-1 by the end of the quarter. By the end of the second quarter, Loyola was up 5-3. The Greyhounds scored one goal in the third quarter and three goals in the fourth quarter while shutting out the Terrapins in the second half.

Eric Lusby led the Greyhounds with four goals and Chris Layne assisted on three goals. Mike Chanenchuk, Jesse Bernhardt and Kevin Cooper each scored a goal for Maryland.

For more on the Lacrosse Championship, please be sure to check out our StoryStream for all the latest news and updates.