clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Boston Marathon 2012 Results: Wesley Korir Wins Men's Division With Unofficial Time Of 2:12:40

More: Updated results are here.

An unusually hot Boston Marathon caused thousands to withdraw, including Geoffrey Mutai, last year's winner. But one runner persevered through the heat better than anyone else.

Wesley Korir of Kenya battled through temperatures in the mid-80s to win the men's division with an unofficial time of 2:12:40.

Mutai won the 2011 Boston Marathon in record time and was leading after 18 miles this year, but he was forced to pull out of the event with cramps. Due to the heat, race officials offered runners a deferment into next year's race if they wanted to withdraw this year. The result was that only 22,426 of the almost 27,000 people who registered actually began the race, and Mutai was one of many forced by the heat to withdraw after the race began.

Sharon Cherop of Kenya won the women's division with an unofficial time of 2:31:50. Her winning time was the slowest at the Boston Marathon since 1985.

For more on the Boston Marathon, be sure to check out our StoryStream throughout the day.