clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Boston Marathon Results 2012: Joshua Cassidy and Shirley Reilly Are The Wheelchair Division Winners

In the 116th Annual Boston Marathon, we have an official record.

In the Men's Wheelchair Division, Joshua Cassidy has finished as the winner with a time of 1:18:25. The Canadian set the record on a day that is expected to reach record temperatures in Boston, 86 degrees being the predicted high for the afternoon.

Cassidy bested the previous record by two seconds. Kurt Fearnley of Austria also put forth a herculean effort coming in second, with a time of 1:21:39.

On the women's side of the ledger, Shirley Reilly was the best of the bunch. In a furious race to the finish line, Reilly barely beat Wakako Tsuchida of Japan by one hundredth of a second.

Reilly won in front of her home country with the time of 1:37:36. Diane Roy rounded out the top three with a time of 1:42:37.

For more on the Boston Marathon, please be sure to check out our StoryStream throughout the day.