clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

South Korea's Pyeongchang Awarded 2018 Winter Olympics

Pyeongchang, a city in South Korea, was awarded the 2018 Winter Olympics by the International Olympic Committee on Wednesday. Pyeongchang has attempted to win the event two previous times, in 2010 and 2014, but failed to do so until this week.

Munich and Annecy, France were also in the running, but Pyeongchang was selected in the vote by the IOC, receiving 63 of the 95 votes while Munich had 25 votes and Annecy received seven.

Korean delegates erupted in cheers in the conference hall after IOC President Jacques Rogge opened a sealed envelope and read the words: "The International Olympic Committee has the honor of announcing that the 23rd Olympic Winter Games in 2018 are awarded to the city of Pyeongchang." (via San Francisco Chronicle)

The selection of Pyeongchang may have been a direct result from an empassioned presentation from the South Koreans given by Jin-Sun Kim, the nation's ambassador.

Jin-Sun Kim, the South Korean country's ambassador, gave a presentation "filled with tears, laughter and familiarity" as he lobbied for the IOC to consider his country as the host site for the Winter Olympics once again -- despite two failed attempts already.

"I believe it is my destiny to stand before you for the third time," Kim told those in attendance before admitting to GamesBids after that "we have walked through a very rough road coming here ... I was really caught up in my own emotions."

Also in attendance supporting PyeongChang's bid were Olympic champion figure skater Yuna Kim and Toby Dawson, a Korean born American Olympic skier. (via SB Nation)