clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

MLB All-Star Game 2011: Broadcast Info, Time, Lineups, And History

The 2011 MLB All-Star Game is just hours away, with the best of the American League and National League ready to vie for dominance, and home-field advantage in the World Series. 

Date/Time: Tuesday, July 12, 8:00 p.m. EST

Location: Chase Field, Phoenix Arizona -- 2011 will mark the first time the Arizona Diamondbacks have hosted the event since they joined the league as an expansion team in 1998.

Broadcast Information: The 2011 All-Star Game will be aired on FOX, with Joe Buck providing play-by-play and Tim McCarver doing color commentary. ESPN Radio will also broadcast the game, with Jon Sciambi and Chris Singleton providing coverage. 

All-Star Game History: The National League currently holds the advantage over the American League, with 41 wins, 38 losses, and just a pair of ties since the event was first held in 1933. The All-Star Game has been marked with periods of clear dominance, such as the 60's and 70's when the NL lost just twice, and more recently an undefeated stretch for the American League that lasted from 1997 to 2009. The National League broke the streak last year, however, and could start their own period of dominance tonight.

American League Lineup:


  1. NYY - Curtis Granderson, C 
  2. CLE - Asdrubal Cabrera, SS 
  3. BOS - Adrian Gonzalez, 1B 
  4. TOR - Jose Bautista, RF
  5. TEX - Josh Hamilton, LF
  6. TEX - Adrian Beltre, 3B 
  7. BOS - David Ortiz, DH 
  8. NYY - Robinson Cano, 2B
  9. DET - Alex Avila, C
Starting Pitcher: LAA - Jered Weaver

National League Lineup:
  1. MIL - Rickie Weeks, 2B
  2. NYM - Carlos Beltran, DH
  3. LAD - Matt Kemp, CF
  4. MIL - Prince Fielder, 1B
  5. ATL - Brian McCann, C
  6. STL - Lance Berkman, RF
  7. STL - Matt Holliday, LF
  8. COL - Troy Tulowitzki, SS
  9. CIN - Scott Rolen, 3B
Starting Pitcher: PHI - Roy Halladay

Red Sox In The All-Star Game: Boston sends five players to the All-Star game, not including the injured Jon Lester. Adrian Gonzalez and David Ortiz were voted in by the fans to start at first base and designated hitter respectively, with Josh Beckett and Jacoby Ellsbury in the reserves. Kevin Youkilis was selected as a replacement for Alex Rodriguez, who will undergo surgery for a torn meniscus.