clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Frozen Four 2011: Kyle Schmidt's OT Goal Gives Minnesota-Duluth 3-2 Win Over Michigan, School's First National Title

Kyle Schmidt netted the game-winning goal 3:22 into overtime as Minnesota-Duluth defeated Michigan, 3-2, in the 2011 Frozen Four championship game at the Xcel Energy Center in St. Paul, Minnesota on Saturday night.

Minnesota-Duluth, which won its first ever national championship, had 38 shots and nine power play opportunities while Michigan managed 24 shots and four power-plays.

This isn't the first national title of the year for Minnesota-Duluth either, as SB Nation points out, putting the Bulldogs in exclusive company.

Their win was well deserved, and it gives UMD their first ever national title. They also hold the interesting distinction of being one of the only teams to win a hockey and a football national championship in the same season, as the Bulldogs won the Division II football title this year.    

Michigan's Ben Winnett put his team on the board first, scoring his fifth goal of the season 14:42 into the first period. UMD's Travis Oleksuk knotted the score at one 1:39 into the second period and Max Tardy put the Bulldogs on top, 2-1, 9:31 into the middle period on a power-play goal.

Not to be outdone, Jeff Rohrkemper tied the game at 2-2 on his even-strength goal 17:46 into the second. Schmidt proceeded to put an official end to the 2010-11 NCAA Men's Hockey season with his overtime goal.

Kenny Reiter had 22 saves in net for Minnesota-Duluth and Shawn Hunwick had 35 saves for Michigan.