clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Boston Marathon 2011: Wheelchair Divisions Won By Japan's Masazumi Soejima, Wakako Tsuchida

It was Japan's day in the wheelchair divisions at the 2011 Boston Marathon, with Masazumi Soejima winning the men's race while Wakako Tsuchida took home the women's side. 

Soejima out-sprinted Kurt Fearnley and Ernst Van Dyk in a wild finish, breaking the tape in 1:18:50 -- just one second ahead his competitors -- for his second win at the Boston Marathon (2007). It's the first time ever that South Africa's Van Dyk has lost in Boston. He won every year from 2001-06, and against from 2008-10 -- he did not compete in 2007, the year Soejima claimed victory.  

Tsuchida's win, her fifth consecutive title at the Boston Marathon, was the fastest time ever for the women's wheelchair division -- she crossed the finish line in 1:34:06, which was 16 seconds faster then the record originally set by Jean Driscoll in 1994.