clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Robert Griffin III Wins 2011 Heisman Trophy

In April, Stanford quarterback Andrew Luck will be football's hot story, but Saturday night quarterback Robert Griffin III of Baylor University is, as the junior earned the 2011 Heisman Trophy. Griffin earned 405 first-place votes and a total of 1,687 total points to beat out Stanford University senior quarterback Andrew Luck, who received 247 first-place votes and totaled 1,407 points.

RG3 end the year second in the nation in total offense with 387 yards per game, passed for 36 touchdowns and 3,998 yards. RG3 also became the first Baylor Bear to earn the honor, which last season was given to NFL star rookie Cam Newton.


Baylor finished its season with a 9-3 overall record and will play Washington in the Alamo Bowl, Dec. 29.


Other finalists that Griffin III beat out were: running back Montee Ball (22 first-place votes) of the University of Wisconsin, defensive back Tyrann Mathieu (32) of LSU, and running back Trent Richardson (138) of the University of Alabama.