clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Revolution's Shalrie Joseph, Kevin Alston Named To 2010 MLS All-Star Team

On Tuesday, head coach Bruce Arena selected the final 11 players to complete the 23-man 2010 AT&T MLS All-Star team that will take on Manchester United July 28, and among them were a pair of Revolution members: midfielder Shalrie Joseph and defender Kevin Alston.

Joseph and Alston, along with the other nine selections from Arena and the two picks made by Commissioner Don Garber (Jaime Moreno and Brian Ching), will join the First XI, previously announced.

This is Joseph's seventh all-star selection. In 2009, Joseph was one of three finalists for the MLS Most Valuable Player award after recording a career-high eight goals and eight assists. One of the game's most dominating central midfielders, Joseph moved forward to play striker after a rash of injuries hit the Revs. As the captain, Joseph's late-season performance was largely credited with helping push the Revs into the MLS Cup Playoffs.

Alston received his first career all-star nod from Arena. The second-year right back has made 14 appearances this year, starting every game in which he has appeared. As a rookie in 2009, Alston made 26 appearances - all starts - recording one assist. Alston was called into the U.S. National Team's January and February training camps by head coach Bob Bradley.

The complete 2010 MLS All-Star roster:

Goalkeepers (2): Donovan Ricketts (LA Galaxy), Nick Rimando (Real Salt Lake)

Defenders (7): Omar Gonzalez (LA Galaxy), Chad Marshall (Columbus Crew), Jamison Olave (Real Salt Lake), Jonathan Bornstein (Chivas USA), Heath Pearce (FC Dallas), Wilman Conde (Chicago Fire), Kevin Alston (New England Revolution)

Midfielders (9): Dwayne De Rosario (Toronto FC), Marco Pappa (Chicago Fire), Javier Morales (Real Salt Lake), Guillermo Barros Schelotto (Columbus Crew), Sebastien Le Toux (Philadelphia Union), David Ferreira (FC Dallas), Brad Davis (Houston Dynamo), Shalrie Joseph (New England Revolution), Jeff Larentowicz (Colorado Rapids)

Forwards (5): Edson Buddle (LA Galaxy), Landon Donovan (LA Galaxy), Juan Pablo Angel (New York Red Bulls), Brian Ching (Houston Dynamo), Jaime Moreno (D.C. United)